Windows 7 Library Structure

Reaction score
Ok, I can't believe I have to even ask this, since I've been working on computers since 1985. What the heck is the idea of this "Library"? Is this just shortcuts to folders elsewhere??

It annoys me because I have a Work at Home folder -- but it insists that the path is under "Users\MyName\My Music

I don't WANT it under My Music. I never created it under My Music. I created it under the LIBRARY. Why does it just do what it wants? Since it looks like folders are duplicated, which is annoying -- I deleted one. Nope, took out both of them. That's fine - buy here's what I DO NOT GET. When I deleted that work at home folder -- I had all of my pictures folders, Documents folders, Videos, etc. that came default in the explorer -- but all of the folders were empty!! No pictures (apparently), no documents in any of the folders -- nothing! When I restored the Work at Home folder from Trash, all of the other items came back. They have NOTHING TO DO with this Work at Home folder!!

WHY can't Microsoft make a system that just WORKS?? For goodness sake, its amazing because you are trying to make it sooo dang easy for everyone -- yet in the process you are making it wayy too complicated - and it doesn't work the way it is supposed to!
Does anyone have any sort of explanation of how this dumb Library thing should work in its simplistic way its supposed to? I would rather just be able to make my own folders and keep my crap where I want to, but I swear it would screw up this machine.

Thanks - any advice on this would be great because I am so sick of wasting my time trying to figure out what MS is thinking.

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
Yes, the main link under each library type is strictly a pointer to another location. By default that is \Users\{LogonID}\My Documents\My Music/My Pictures/My Video.