SOLVED how to change an icon

Reaction score
i have downloaded the program worldwidetelescope from Microsoft and i am personally not to fond of the desktop icon. however i am not able to change icon in the properties. im assuming its because of special permissions idk. is there anything i can do to simply change an icon for a file that does not permit it?
anything at all.

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Reaction score
I've no experience of the program you are on about, but if I'm unable to change the desktop icon my usual trick is to**:
Create a shortcut in the source programs folder of its exe file. Change the icon in that, usually with Reshack 3.5.2 . Copy that to the desktop, start menu, wherever required.

**Sometimes it's possible to change the icons in the actual executive file. More often than not it will complain about a "corrupted file", hence the making of a shortcut.

Last edited:

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
Change the icon in that, usually with Reshack 3.5.2 .
**Sometimes it's possible to change the icons in the actual executive file. More often than not it will complain about a "corrupted file", hence the making of a shortcut.
You cannot change it in the .exe, and It already has two desktop shortcuts, which also cannot be changed. My suggestion was another alternative to Reshack. There are quite a few free ones around.

This is the one I use, if the op fancies it?

View attachment 2075

Last edited:

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
What exactly is sitting on your desktop? Is it an actual exe or a shortcut to an exe or is it a URL that causes your browser to open?

If it is an actual exe then move it into a folder under program files and then create a shortcut on the desktop instead.